COVID-19 Updates: Read our blog for useful information about commercial, employment and family law issues.

Michael Adams


About Michael

Professor Michael Adams is an internationally recognised specialist in corporate law, governance, securities markets regulation. Michael has been writing, teaching and regularly presenting on all these topics for over 30 years.

Prior to joining Coleman Greig, Michael was Dean of the School of Law at Western Sydney University (WSU). Michael held this role for more than a decade, combining it with his position as Professor of Law.  Michael is currently the head of the University of New England's Law School, where he lectures in Corporate Law and Law Technology.

In his role as Consultant at Coleman Greig, Michael provides strategic advice to commercial clients with a particular focus on directors' duties and corporate governance.  Michael brings his extensive experience to the firm's professional staff as a mentor and educator, and our commercial clients also benefit from his rich understanding of legal issues facing companies through our briefings, seminars and workshop series. 

Michael is a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators (FACE), as well as the Australian Academy of Law (FAAL), and is also a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia (FGIA & UK FCIS).  He currently sits on the Governance Institute of Australia Committee.

Previous roles include President of the Australasian Law Teachers Association, Corporate Law Teachers Association and Chartered Secretaries Australia. He was also the Professor of Financial Services Law for Perpetual Trustees Australia.

A prolific writer and presenter, Michael has co-authored ten books, 30 chapters and 100 articles. He has presented at more than 250 conferences and seminars.

Lawyers Weekly named Michael in the 20th annual Australian Law Awards as “2020 Academic Lawyer of the Year”. He was previously the recipient of the Federal Government’s Australian University Teacher of the Year, for Law and Legal Studies in 2000 and the Chartered Secretaries Australia President's Award in 2005.

Contact Details